A Short Story of How I Got into Tech.

Hello there,

So, this is my first post and I thought, "Why not just share how this all started?".

It's going to be a really short one. It's a tech blog, not a lifestyle/personal blog, right? (Or it doesn't matter?)

Oh well

After I moved into a new city in Nigeria, I resumed a Digital Marketing job which I got through my lifestyle blog. It was nice. But I was dissatisfied (Inspirational dissatisfaction?), I wanted more money, really and maybe, a 'work-from-anywhere' lifestyle.

At that time, a lot of people were going into tech. Digital Marketing is even regarded as tech and we have the others- UI/UX, Software engineering, Data Analytics.

I got interested in UI/UX and started with some courses on Udemy, FutureLearn and Youtube tutorials.

Interestingly, I had a friend who also transitioned that particular path and was ready to tag himself as my mentor. He was so invested to the extent that he got me a Figma course on Udemy and created a group so I could ask him questions, work on tasks and share feedbacks. Amazing, right?

It got to a point I was frustrated and it felt like it was not for me. My excuse was that I had no good eye for design and I would rather bring someone else's design to life instead.

I recall he discouraged me by telling me that 'Software engineering is hard. You have to be super intelligent to crack it'. Hmmm, was I discouraged? Maybe a little. I am more into arts, not a fan of figures.

But then, if you want more, you do more.

I decided to go for Software engineering- Frontend development.

My classes started from Youtube- binged watched a day in the life of frontend engineers, how they got into tech without a Computer Science degree, etc.

I moved to Udemy and got two courses- one was a Valentine's gift from a friend.

AltSchool Africa

I attended a career bootcamp of some sort. Companies were present to hire and this company with the 'Become a Software Engineer in a year' banner caught my attention.

The amazing part is tuition could be paid after you get a job and in installments! An opportunity!

So, I registered, passed the entrance exam and yes, I am in my 5th month of learning as I type this.

My experience has been amazing so far, I will definitely dedicate a post to that.

So, there you have it. My journey into tech which technically, has just started.

The purpose of starting this blog is to document my tech journey, share tips as I learn them.

Thank you for reading!

If you would like to check out Altschool Africa, click here